Children's Hospital Colorado

The Nursing Clinical Ladder at Children's Hospital Colorado

Clinical Ladder: Opportunity for Professional Growth and Development

At Children’s Hospital Colorado we believe in continuous and life-long learning. Our Professional Career Advancement Program (PCAP) includes three tracks: Clinical, Management/Leadership and Education. The Clinical Track is called the Clinical Ladder. 

The four levels in the Clinical Ladder:

  • Clinical Level I – new graduate registered nurse (RN)
  • Clinical Level II 
  • Clinical Level III – baccalaureate degree and certification required; member in professional organization 
  • Clinical Level IV – baccalaureate degree and certification required; active member in professional organization / profession of nursing

All RNs are in the Clinical Ladder at a minimum of a Clinical Level II. Advancement to Level III or IV requires an application via an electronic portfolio. 

Quality and Safety Education for Nurses

The Clinical Ladder is based on the Quality & Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) competencies and includes the six QSEN domains plus Leadership: 

  • Family-centered Care
  • Teamwork & Collaboration
  • Evidence-based Practice
  • Quality Improvement
  • Safety
  • Informatics
  • Leadership